Learn the description and breakdown of the XSEDE organizational structure. Questions? Contact us at

XSEDE is divided into four organizational levels:

  • Level 1 (Project Level):
    • encompasses all functional areas as well as external components (e.g. XAB, SPF, UAC)
    • led by the Principle Investigator, John Towns
  • Level 2 (L2 Functional Areas):
    • represents the six functional areas of the project: Community Engagement & Enrichment (CEE), Extended Collaborative Support Services (ECSS), XSEDE Cyberinfrastructure Integration (XCI), Operations (Ops), Resource Allocations Service (RAS), and the Program Office
    • led by the L2 Directors
  • Level 3 (L3 Focus Areas):
    • Each L2 Functional Area is separated into focus areas, called L3 teams, that, collectively, represent the functional responsibilities of that L2 area
    • led by L3 Managers
  • Level 4 (Working Level):
    • Individual team members complete assigned individual and group activities for the L3 team(s) they report into

A Work Breakdown Structure (WBS) approach is used to designate Levels 1 through 3 of the organizational structure.

Organizational level 2 teams are specifically setup to align with the project's strategic goals.

Work Breakdown Structure diagram

The breakdown of the XSEDE project is shown in the figure below.

XSEDE Organization Chart

Key Points
Four organizational levels
Organizational structure aligned with strategic goals
Contact Information