Student Champions

Campus Champions programs include Regional, Student, and Domain Champions.


Student Champions

Student Champion volunteer responsibilities may vary from one institution to another and depending on your Mentor. Student Champions may work with their Campus Champion Mentor to provide outreach on campus to help users access the best advanced computing resource that will help them accomplish their research goals, provide training to users on campus, or work on special projects assigned by your Mentor. Student Champions are also encouraged to attend the annual PEARC conference and participate in the PEARC student program as well as submit posters or papers to the conference. 

Interested in applying to become a Student Champion?

Fill out this form and someone will be in touch soon! (Please note that your institution must be part of the Champions program and you must have a Campus Champion mentor. To check to see if your institution is part of the Champions program and to get in touch a Champion on your campus, check here. Can't find your institution on the list? Fill out the application form and we will work to help you!)

Questions? Email


Boise State University Mike Henry Kyle Shannon Material Science PhD 2020
Dillard University Priscilla Saarah Tomekia Simeon Biology Undergraduate 2022
Dillard University Brian Desil Tomekia Simeon Physics Undergraduate 2022
Florida A&M Univerisity TBD Hongmei Chi      
Florida A&M Univeristy TBD Hongmei Chi      
Georgia Institute of Technology Sebastian Kayhan Hollister Semir Sarajlic Computer Science  Undergraduate 2021
Georgia State University Kenneth Huang Suranga Naranjan   Graduate 2020
Georgia State University Thakshila Herath Suranga Naranjan   Graduate  
Georgia State University  Melchizedek Mashiku Neranjan "Suranga" Edirisinghe Pathiran Computer Science Undergraduate 2022
Iowa State University Justin Stanley Levi Barber Computer Science Undergraduate 2020
Jackson State University Duber Gomez-Fonseca Carmen Wright   Graduate 2019
John Hopkins University Jodie Hoh Jaime Combariza, Anthony Kolasny, Kevin Manalo Computer Science Undergraduate 2022
Kansas State University Mohammed Tanash Dan Andresen Computer Science Gradudate/PhD 2022
Massachusetts Green HPC Center Abigail Waters  Julie Ma Clinical Psychology PhD 2022
Midwestern State University Broday Walker Eduardo Colmenares Computer Science Graduate 2020
New Jersey Institute of Technology Vatsal Shah Roman Voronov Mechanical Engineering  Undergraduate 2020
Northwestern University  Sajid Ali Alper Kinaci Applied Physics PhD 2021
Oklahoma State University Venkat Padmanapan Rao Jesse Schafer Materials Science PhD 2019
Pomona College Omar Zintan Mwinila-Yuori Asya Shklyar Computer Science Undergraduate  2022
Pomona College Samuel Millette Asya Shklyar Computer Science  Undergraduate   2023
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute James Flamino Joel Geidt   PhD 2022
Saint Louis University Frank Gerhard Schroer IV Eric Kaufmann Physics Undergraduate 2021
Southern Illinois University

Majid Memari

Chet Langin   PhD 2021
Southern Illinois University Aaron Walber Chet Langin Physics   2020
Southwestern Oklahoma State University Kurtis D. Clark Jeremy Evert Computer Science Undergraduate 2020
The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga  Carson Woods Craig Tanis Computer Science Undergraduate 2021
Univerity of Arkansas Timothy "Ryan" Rogers Jeff Pummill Physical Chemistry PhD 2021
University of California - Merced Luanzheng Guo Sarvani Chadalapaka   PhD 2020
University of Central Florida Amit Goel Paul Weigand      
University of Central Oklahoma Samuel Kelting Evan Lemley Mathematics/CS Undergraduate 2021
University of Delaware Parinaz Barakhshan Anita Schwartz Electrical and Computer Engineering PhD 2024
University of Houston-Downtown Eashrak Zubair Hong Lin   Undergraduate 2020
University of Illinois at Chicago Babak Kashir Taloori Jon Komperda Mechanical Engineering PhD 2020
University of Iowa Baylen Jacob Brus Ben Rogers Health Informatics Undergraduate 2020
University of Maine Michael Brady Butler Bruce Segee Physica/Computational Materials Science PhD 2022
University of Michigan Simon Adorf Shelly Johnson     2019
University of North Carolina Wilmington Cory Nichols Shrum Eddie Dunn      
University of South Dakota Adison Ann Kleinsasser   Computer Science Graduate 2020
University of Wyoming Rajiv Khadka Jared Baker   PhD 2020
Virginia Tech University David Barto Alana Romanella   Undergraduate 2020
West Chester University of Pennsylvania Jon C. Kilgannon Linh Ngo Computer Science Graduate 2020
Winston-Salem State University Daniel Caines Xiuping Tao Computer Science Undergraduate 2019
Florida A&M Univerisity George Kurian Hongmei Chi     2019
Florida A&M Univerisity Temilola Aderibigbe Hongmei Chi     2019
Florida A&M Univerisity Stacyann Nelson Hongmei Chi     2019
Georgia State University Mengyuan Zhu Suranga Naranjan     2017
Jackson State Univeristy Ebrahim Al-Areqi Carmen Wright     2018
Mississippi State University Nitin Sukhija Trey Breckenridge     2015
Oklahoma State University Phillip Doehle Dana Brunson     2016
Oklahoma State University Raj Shukla Dana Brunson     2018
Oklahoma State University Nathalia Graf Grachet Philip Doehle     2019
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Jorge Alarcon Joel Geidt     2016
Southern Illinois University Alex Sommers Chet Langin     2018
Southern Illinois University Sai Susheel Sunkara Chet Langin     2018
Southern Illinois University Monica Majiga Chet Langin     2017
Southern Illinois University Sai Sandeep Kadiyala  Chet Langin     2017
Southern Illinois University Rezaul Nishat Chet Langin     2018
Southern Illinois University Alvin Gonzales Chet Langin     2020
Tufts University Georgios (George) Karamanis Shawn G. Doughty     2018
University of Arkansas Shawn Coleman Jeff Pummill     2014
University of Florida David Ojika Oleksandr Moskalenko     2018
University of Houston Clear Lake Tarun Kumar Sharma Liwen Shih     2014
University of Maryland Baltimore County Genaro Hernadez Paul Schou     2015
University of Missouri Alexander Barnes Timothy Middelkoop     2018
University of North Carolina Wilmington James Stinson Gray Eddie Dunn     2018
University of South Dakota Joseph Madison Doug Jennewein     2018
University of Pittsburgh Shervin Sammak Kim Wong     2016
Virginia Tech University Lu Chen Alana Romanella     2017

Updated: November 14, 2019


Key Points
Student Champions
Regional Champions
Domain Champions
Contact Information